We have a strong design community in our region with a history of producing truly world class work.  The Illumination Awards provide an opportunity for public recognition of professionalism, ingenuity, and originality in lighting design based upon the individual merit of each entry against specific criteria. The judging system is based entirely on how well the lighting design does or does not meet the program criteria. The program is open to any qualified entrant without limitations as to professional affiliations. There are four parallel programs:

Edwin F. Guth Memorial Award for Interior Lighting Design
Paul Waterbury Award for Outdoor Lighting
Aileen Page Cutler Award for Residential Lighting Design
Energy and Environmental Design Award Sponsored by OSRAM SYLVANIA

You can download the Illumination Awards guidelines (pdf) for more information.

Illumination Awards entries are typically submitted in the middle of January and culminate with our Illumination Awards Gala in May where we celebrate with our colleagues achievements of the past year.  Whether you are a considering the Illumination Awards for the first time or are a veteran, we encourage you to contact our Illumination Awards chair or president if you have any questions. 

Open on: January 1, 2017
Close on: February 24, 2017

Section Judging :
Open on: February 24, 2017
Close on: March 18, 2017

Submission Editing:
Open on: March 19, 2017
Close on: March 24, 2017

Online Judging:
Open on: March 25, 2017
Close on: April 22, 2017

Final Judging :
LIGHTFAIR at the Philadelphia Convention Center in Philadelphia, PA on May 8, 2017

Section Illumination Awards Gala:
At the Westin Copley Place in Boston, MA on May 25, 2017

IESNA Illumination Awards Gala:
IES Conference at The Portland Marriot at Downtown Waterfront in Portland, OR on August 10, 2016

Timeline webpage is

Program overview is